I write romantic suspense and warm, family relationship type novels, often with a touch of humor. Many of my books have featured animals as key players--dogs, cats, llamas, cockatiels, horses...even our son's pet albino corn snake, Sssssid, who appeared in my first Superromance back in 1999.

Animals have been a big part of my life since I was a child. How about you? I hope you'll become a "blog follower" here (see the right-hand column for a place to click) and will come back often. So...let's talk about our pets!

Friday, August 14, 2009

If you like animals....


Save the Last Dance, my August book release (for the Everlasting line, shelved with the Superromances) is in the stores now--Barnes and Noble, Walmart, Target, KMart, you name it! Or, you can find it online at www.eharlequin.com by simply typing "Rustand" in the search box. Actually, all three of my 2009 books are available there...and you can read the back cover blurbs to see what you think.

This story involves a veterinarian, a romance, suspense, and the most...unusual...hero I've ever done. :) If someone here reads it, I would love to hear what you think!

I just helped unload a hundred-twenty bales of hay into our barn tonight--and tomorrow, get to clean stalls. Ahhh, the glamorous life of a writer!! :)
Animals are a big part of my life, along with the writing, and a love for our four-footed family members made writing this book, involving a veterinarian's life, a lot of fun!

11 comments:

  1. It sounds odd, but I miss the physicality of throwing hay. Since I'm no longer working at a livery, I don't do much hay moving. My horse lives with my mom, so she and my stepdad do the majority of the hay moving. There's nothing to get into shape like moving and stacking hay!

    Congrats on your new release.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have to admit....I got the easy part--dropping bales from the top of the hay wagon. After rotator cuff surgery this spring, I still can't do all the lifting and flinging. Our neighbors bale for us, then we split the the hay between us. Last night it was fun--the husband and wife came, along with their son, and my husband even helped, too, so that was wonderful. There were times in years past when I unloaded and stacked myself....and it's hot, hard work. Sore muscles for sure! But what a wonderful, secure feeling, to have it done, and look at all the hay stored away and ready for winter.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am going to get your book when I go to work today. I work at wal-mart so do my shopping before coming home. I will read it and get back to you over the week-end on how well I liked your book. I love animals and it's sounds down my ally so to speak. I miss all the hay tossing I used to do..in my younger years my father in law had horses and we helped him as he was crippled and needed us. I do miss it at times. Have a good day. susan L.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Looks like this would be the title of a site for a veterinarian not an author. Catchy title.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Susan, a lot of my books have featured animals, so I'm glad to hear you enjoy animals, too! IN one of my books, A Montana Family, a llama was a key player. Sometimes its been a bird, or dogs, cats or horses. My first book started off with a scene involving a pet snake owned by a troubled young boy not at all happy with the guardianship of his aunt.

    The snake, renamed Igor for the book, was actually my son's albino corn snake, Ssssid. Ssssid has gone to the home of a kindergarten teacher now, and I don't mind that transition a bit. :) He'd get loose now and then, and liked to curl up around the shoes in my closet. Talk about a surprise, opening that closet door....

    Abi, all the animals (in real life and in a lot of my books) are why I thought it would be fun to start a blog about them. Other authors have posted here too, and some others are coming up. But anyone is welcome! if you have amusing or poignant stories, let me know, and we can get them on the schedule!

    Roxanne

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's fair time here where I live in Michigan and it makes me remember when we used to load our horse to take him out to the fair. He was an easy loader, too, and we had to use him as "bait" to load his barnmate, who didn't like to trailer. Sometimes I really do miss that time. We've had so many different pets, but now just have a Jack Russell Terrier and one cat. Zeke the JRT loves to ride in the car anywhere. The cat, on the other hand, sounds like he's dying if you put him in the car.lol!
    I went to one of your workshops at RWA in D.C. Look forward to reading this book soon.

    Lucy Kubash
    Chance's Return
    from White Rose Publishing

    ReplyDelete
  7. Hi Lucy, how cool that you were at the RWA workshop! I sure enjoyed the conference. It was especially excitiong because roomie Cindy Gerard won the Romantic Suspense Rita, roomie Kylie Brant won the Daphne (a really big honor, too!) and also because this was my daughter Emily's first RWA conference. Our fifth roomie was the delightful Gennita Low, so it was a great week.

    I really enjoyed hearing about your animals!!

    Roxanne

    ReplyDelete
  8. Animals are the big part of my life.I really enjoyed your blogs.

    Sheron

    Cash Online Get Easy cash at your door step

    ReplyDelete
  9. You may post on the professional credentials for the blog owner. You could express it's outstanding. Your blog experience can springboard your click through. Ibcbet

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thanks so much with this fantastic new web site. I’m very fired up to show it to anyone. It makes me so satisfied your vast understanding and wisdom have a new channel for trying into the world. Ibcbet

    ReplyDelete